Table!

12 11 2009

I’m already deviating from the food theme, I know. I actually have a lot of new food things on my mind that I really want to post but I couldn’t resist this one because I finally finished this table that has been sitting in my basement for like… six months? Too long. But I finally finished it and it turned out pretty nice. It’s not quite perfect like I had hoped it would be, but it’s a start… the next one will be perfect. It’s made of an African wood that has a look similar to mahogany called Afzelia and has a few stripes of Zebrawood running through the top. For me it was meant to be an exercise in learning some new joinery so I took a chance and went for the finger joints that turned out to be… not nearly as simple as they look.

Joint

The legs and rails are both notched to allow the rails to surround and meet flush, while also pinning the legs in on either side as you can see in the picture below.

Inside

And the finished product in use:

books on table

More photos here: www.flickr.com/photos/billieve

Actions

Information

2 responses

12 11 2009
S.Bal

Cool Bill! I want one for my kitchen…whenever you get around to it.

12 11 2009
oz

holy crap that is awesome!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

