Burger Quest Part 1: Good Stuff

29 05 2010

Quest for the best burger part I – Washington, DC – Good Stuff Eatery

I’ve decided it’s time to start talking restaurants on here. If i’m opinionated and critical, forgive me for insulting your favorite restaurant along the way… but it probably sucks anyway.

I’m on a quest to determine what makes the ultimate burger. I know – everyone has their own (strong) opinions about what makes a good burger – but these are just mine. I suspect this search is going to go on for a while but so far I have some findings…

I got into an argument with my friend Nick the last time I was in Washington visiting Stef. We were sitting around talking and I hadn’t seen him in months, maybe years, and we got into an argument about what has become my favorite restaurant in Washington – Good Stuff Eatery. It’s in Capitol Hill and is owned/run by one of the former Top Chef competitors – Spike Mendelsohn.

I was fully prepared for Good Stuff to suck the first time I went to check it out. Walking in it looked more like a Chipotle serving burgers than a gourmet burger joint. Little did I know, this was just your typical nod to Washingtonian corporatized restaurant identity that apparently sells much more product than individual, quirky style like you’ll find more of in New York or San Francisco.

The good news about Good Stuff for me (and for Spike) is that the product they’re slangin’ is top notch. It far exceeded the expectations I had based on the corporate identity they’re repping. At the rate those bugers are rolling out of that place, I’d wager they have good reason to keep that corporate identity around too because I think it’s likely they could go running with that brand, the gourmet burger and the shake assembly line they’ve got set up.

As far as the food – the menu is simple enough… actually the perfect size for me. Just enough variety but not so much that it’s overwhelming. And, while the prices may seem steep for the size of the burgers, in my opinion the quality of the product that goes into them and the flavor that comes out is definitely worth it.

I have to put this out there – I’m a total sucker when it comes to burgers with eggs on them. That said, I liked these burgers before I even tasted the egg burger… that one just took it to the next level. My three favorites in order are Spike’s Sunny Side (which I think they used to call the 5 Napkin), the Prez Obama and the Blazin Barn. The Obama totes Roquefort (I think?) cheese and caramelized onions, the Sunny Side is one of my all-time favorite combos (bacon, egg and cheese) done the best I’ve ever had on on a ridiculously good sweet roll and the Barn is pretty obviously Spike’s nod to his time in Vietnam – basically a banh mi burger. I was worried about the Barn not coming with cheese because I have to have cheese on a burger but he proved me wrong there too. The pickled carrots and daikon combined with the sriracha mayo bring plenty of flavor and creaminess to keep me satisfied. The burgers themselves – perfectly cooked, perfect texture, nice and fat and super juicy. Quality. And they’re cooked on a flattop griddle, which I’m beginning to realize is one of the keys to the perfect burger. Another key to the perfect burger is the bun – and they have the perfect buns at Good Stuff as well – sweet and soft.

And the fries… the fries are cooked until they’re nice and crispy but they’re still just thick enough to be a little soft in the middle, which I like – but my favorite part is that you can get them tossed with a pretty healthy pinch of fresh thyme, rosemary and pepper.

Oh and the price – the first time I thought the burgers were a little bit small but every time I go I’m totally satisfied with a burger and half a small order of fries so i’m beginning to think it may be just right. They’re around $7 a piece… pretty standard for a burger like that. The quality of ingredients and the taste make that thing well worth the 7 bucks to me.

I was in Washington a couple weeks ago and we had plans to check out Ray’s Hellburger in Virginia but somehow we found ourselves in Capitol Hill and just couldn’t resist Good Stuff. The famous Hellburger will have to wait for another visit. As expected, Good Stuff delivered again and every time it leaves me wanting more. I’m still having dreams about that egg burger. Either way I’ll have more burger news soon as the search continues.

****
Good Stuff Eatery
303 Pennsylvania Ave S.E.
Washington, D.C. 20003

Hours: M-Sat. 11:30am-11:00pm, Closed Sundays

Actions

Information

One response

6 06 2010
Alice

It’s too bad that Spike himself is a dick. When I was in there last summer (when I lived about 3 blocks away mind you and was in there all the time), a polite request for my milkshake for which I had been waiting for 30 minutes was met by Spike retorting “Well, we’re kind of busy, if you couldn’t see that…” Um, yeah…just because you’ve been on TV doesn’t mean you should be a dick.

Don’t recall any particularly good burgers in SF, but next time you’re in LA, check out 8oz Burger Bar (www.8ozburgerbar.com) – I liked it better than Good Stuff – better drinks (Moscow Mule – yum!) and burgers not as greasy.

After many visits to Good Stuff, I decided that the Obama was my fave, but I ended up just going there for a hangover milkshake. Better places to eat in DC!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

