Momopickles

12 12 2009

Last weekend while I was in New York, we somehow got ahold of impossible-to-get reservations at Momofuku Ko. It was amazing. One of the best meals I’ve ever had. It wasn’t blow-me-away quality in every course but the combination of the food, the atmosphere and the few that did blow me away… it was pretty awesome. One thing there wasn’t much of there, but there is a lot of at the noodle bar, is pickles.

I’ve had mixed success with pickles in the past – both vinegar and naturally fermented. I decided to try out Chang’s recipe from Momofuku Noodle Bar to see how it would stand up to my past experiments. They’re pretty sweet and not quite as sour as I’d like but I think they may still need a couple of days. For as quick and easy as they are, it’s a nice way to use up extra vegetables instead of letting them go bad in the bottom drawer of your fridge… you can just just about anything.

I found the recipe in the book to be a little less vinegary than I wanted to I upped it a little bit. I also just use plain white vingear but rice wine or cider vinegar work great.

Adapted from Momofuku:

– 1 cup hot water
– 3/4 cup vinegar
– 6 tablespoons sugar
– 2.25 teaspoons kosher salt

You can eat them right away but they definitely benefit from sitting around in the brine for a bit. At least a day or two.

I used Persian cucumbers, serrano chilies, baby carrots, radishes and cauliflower.

I think this brine might be even better on sweet stuff. Chang suggests asian pears in the book and I think I might have to try that next…

Actions

Information

5 responses

13 12 2009
pleasefeedme

Oh gosh, I love pickles! This looks delicious. Adding to my blogroll:)
-pleasefeedme.wordpress.com

26 01 2010
Vegetarian What? «

[…] of cooked and raw, but this time I just cooked everything. I got my raw non-meats in the form of pickled cauliflower that I made last week – I’ve been pickling my leftover veggies left and right so they […]

10 04 2010
Fried Tilapia Banh Mi/Torta « Freestyle Cooking

[…] crazy. You can use them for so much more than just sandwiches, too. For these I just used the basic sweet vinegar mix I’ve been using that I adapted from D Chang’s Momofuku book. You just julienne the […]

3 09 2010
Fried Tilapia Banh Mi/Torta | Freestyle Cooking

[…] crazy. You can use them for so much more than just sandwiches, too. For these I just used the basic sweet vinegar mix I’ve been using that I adapted from D Chang’s Momofuku book. You just julienne the […]

3 09 2010
Vegetarian What? | Freestyle Cooking

[…] of cooked and raw, but this time I just cooked everything. I got my raw non-meats in the form of pickled cauliflower that I made last week – I’ve been pickling my leftover veggies left and right so they […]

Leave a Reply

